Warning: Chia Seed Recall

There’s been a national recall on some brands of Chia Seeds. This won’t affect you if you think Chia Seeds are something you use to make “pets,” but it might if you eat them. The affected brands include Organic Traditions, Williams-Sonoma, and Navitas Naturals brand chia and chia-flaxseed blend powders. Many of our readers heard […]

Amuri Cloud Webinar

Have questions about the new Amuri Cloud, or any Xero Shoes product, or anything about barefoot running? Then join me on a live webinar where I’ll answer ’em all. When: Thursday, March 27th at 6pm PT (that’s 7pm Mountain time, 8pm Central time, 9pm Eastern). Where? Online — Click Here to join us!

Does barefoot running cause calf pain?

Does barefoot running cause calf pain?

Thanks to Frédérik Sisa, for asking me to answer a few questions about barefoot running on his site, The Front Page Online. I want to highlight a point that I make in the interview, because I think it’s under-appreciated and under-discussed in the barefoot community. For example: If you haven’t been barefoot in a while […]

Transition to Barefoot Running – Xero Shoes interviews Alex Hill

Why would you make the transition to running barefoot? And what’s it like to do that? How do you avoid doing “too much, too soon”? Are Vibram Fivefingers the same as barefoot? The best minimalist choice? We sat down (well, stood up, since I use a treadmill desk 😉 ) and talked with Alex Hill […]

Do you need to call the Superheros of Health?

We take a break from our usual chat about barefoot running and walking for this: I don’t think it’s much of a confession to say that I’m a total health and fitness geek. I love keeping up on the research about strength training (most recently: power factor training), diet (my latest obsession: resistant starch), supplementation […]

Al Kavadlo working out in Xero Shoes

Fitness Guru Al Kavadlo chats with Xero Shoes

I met (online) Al Kavadlo over 3 years ago and was really impressed with what he was teaching and how well he practiced what he preached. Al has been a big fan of Xero Shoes, sending us photos of him running through the streets of New York, across the Brooklyn Bridge, and performing all manner […]

Become your own barefoot running coach

I had an intense sprinting workout 2 days ago, followed by an even more intense weight lifting workout and this morning I can barely walk. Even more, I did a minor tweak of something in my ankle which I’m noticing as I walk on my treadmill (I have a treadmill desk). As I’m walking, I […]

Barefoot Running is about never-ending improvement

How to have perfect barefoot running form

(BTW: Something REALLY cool at the bottom of this post!) There’s an idea about barefoot running that one simply learns how to do “IT.” That is, there’s a right way to run barefoot and, once you get that, you’re done. Like learning your multiplication tables, it’s a finite, attainable goal. And while it’s true that […]